Jamaica: Committee Named To Establish Portmore As A Parish

St Catherine South Central Member of Parliament Dr Andrew Wheatley will chair a committee to examine a motion to name Portmore as Jamaica’s 15th parish. 

The motion was tabled by Local Government Minister Desmond McKenzie at Tuesday’s sitting.

Delroy Chuck, Marlene Malahoo Forte, Everald Warmington, Homer Davis, Alando Terrelonge Robert Miller, Fitz Jackson and Denise Daley were approved to sit on the committee. 

The Senate will nominate members to sit on the committee as well. 

Opposition member Phillip Paulwell questioned whether consultations were done, however, he was told by the Speaker of the House, Marisa Dalrymple Phillibert, that it was only a motion which has been tabled and a bill is expected to be tabled in  Parliament later. 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s