Concacaf Restructures World Cup 2022 Qualifying Format

Jamaica’s path to the 2022 FIFA World Cup will begin next June and will see the number of teams in the final Concacaf qualifying round increase, as the revamped framework was released today by the regional governing body.

Concacaf’s previous final round qualifying tournament, known commonly as the ‘hex’ because it features six teams, will now change to an eight team tournament. It will consist of the top five ranked nations in the region based on FIFA rankings as of July 16, and three additional nations to be determined by a tournament involving other nations. Jamaica, being ranked fourth in the region, have booked their place in the final round with Mexico, USA, Costa Rica and Honduras. The top three teams will advance automatically to the World Cup while the fourth place team will enter a continental playoff.


Categories: News

Tagged as: , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s