Guyana: Gov’t unveils updated emergency measures

15 new businesses added to essential services list

THE National COVID-19 Task Force has updated the emergency measures set in effect from April 3, to include over 15 additional categories of essential services and a number of new services which can remain open during the daily 06:00 hours to 17:00 hours period.

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo had told the newspaper, on Wednesday, that the National COVID-19 Task Force has been reviewing the previous measures to cater for other services which can be deemed as essential.

The preamble to the initial list of measures had made it clear that it could be terminated, extended or amended by notice of the Minister of Public Health, after an assessment of the conditions.

New essential services now include the judiciary, the parliament, the diplomatic corps, the Maritime Administration Department (MARAD), National Emergency Operations Center, security services including private security, telecommunication providers including internet, telephone and call centre operators, media houses, broadcasting and the Guyana National Printers Ltd.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s